Home  »  About us  »  Key objectives

Key objectives

ARNECC’s objectives are set out in the Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) entered into in 2011 by the governments of the six States and the Northern Territory. The Australian Capital Territory has not yet become a party to the IGA and, although not yet actively participating in ARNECC’s work, the ACT Registrar is being kept informed of developments.

ARNECC’s primary responsibilities, on behalf of the Registrars in each participating State and Territory, are advising on the:

and developing and maintaining one national set each of:

to be implemented by the Registrars as Operating Requirements and Participations Rules respectively in their jurisdictions.

ARNECC is also responsible for:

  • developing any amendments to its Model Operating Requirements and Model Participation Rules
  • ensuring as far as practicable that business practices with respect to electronic conveyancing are consistent when implemented in each jurisdiction, and
  • reviewing the operations of the legal framework generally.

The legal framework for electronic conveyancing

Image of regulatory framework