About us

The Australian Registrars’ National Electronic Conveyancing Council (ARNECC) is the body established to facilitate the implementation and ongoing management of the regulatory framework for electronic conveyancing of real property in Australia.

ARNECC is constituted under an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) among the State and Territory Governments. ARNECC membership comprises the Land Titles Registrars (or their nominee) from each Australian State and Territory that has entered into the IGA.

The State and Territory officials who have responsibility for each jurisdiction’s Land Registry function are:

  • New South Wales – Registrar General
  • Victoria – Registrar of Titles
  • Queensland – Registrar of Titles
  • Western Australia – Registrar of Titles (and/or other officer of the Land Registry nominated by the Chief Executive of the Western Australian Land Information Authority trading as Landgate)
  • South Australia – Registrar General
  • Northern Territory – Registrar General
  • Australian Capital Territory – Registrar General
  • Tasmania – Recorder of Titles.

Principal functions of ARNECC

  • Advise the State and Territory Governments on any proposed changes to the Electronic Conveyancing National Law (ECNL).
  • Develop and publish Model Operating Requirements (MOR) and Model Participation Rules (MPR) as provided for in the ECNL.
  • Provide authoritative advice to the States and Territories about matters relating to electronic conveyancing.
  • Ensure that, as far as is practicable, business practices with respect to electronic conveyancing are consistent when implemented by the Registrars in each jurisdiction.